What is your Biggest Health Hiccup?

Anyone who knows me, knows that I love being active and I have a passion for health and fitness.  But if anyone really knows me, they will tell you that I HATE drinking water. I know, I know, I know…but, hey, I didn’t say I was perfect! I’m not really sure what my issue is with water or liquids, in general, but I just don’t get enough of it.

Yes, water is critical because your body is mostly water – blood, muscles, lungs, and brain contain and need water. It also helps to regulate your body’s temperature and facilitates that transportation of nutrients and oxygen to your cells, organs and tissues, as well as removes waste from our body.

This morning I decided dig a little deeper and learn what potential damage I could be doing to my body, but skimping out on the water.  I was pretty shocked, freaked out, and grossed out to what I found – IT CAN MAKE YOU FAT!

If you don’t drink enough water, your kidneys aren’t working properly to eliminate toxins and it makes your liver to work harder. Your liver helps to turn stored fat into energy, if your liver is working to help remove toxins it is spending less time burning the stored fat. So your stored fat, continues to store and isn’t burned.

Not only, can this affect my body, cause my organs not to function properly, but it can increase my body fat and lower my energy levels.  I’m going to focus on taking the next few weeks and really try to get in my daily 2 liters of water a day and see how I feel (which is the most important thing), but also to see how it affects how I look.

I not only encourage you to drink more water, but to think about the things that can be keeping you from living a healthier life and do some research on how that is really affecting you.

To your health!

 

2 thoughts on “What is your Biggest Health Hiccup?

  1. Pingback: Stay Healthy Over The Holidays | beachbodytibbs

  2. Pingback: 10 Tips to Fight Winter Weight Gain! | beachbodytibbs

Leave a Reply

