Cleaning Up My Eating

One of my goals for 2012 was to “Eat Clean for 10 meals a week”.  When setting goals, you always want to be SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and time specific) because this is how you are able to have a clear definition of the goal and you are more able to achieve the goal because of the clarity.  I know myself and I know that saying that I will completely Eat Clean for every meal, would be unrealistic.  Our nation has become one that has become addicted to sugar (which usually one of the first 3 ingredients in most processed foods), the convenience of processed foods and junk foods. Our taste buds are now desensitized to eating foods without salt or artificial flavorings.   On top of that, most of the food that we eat are pumped with chemicals, hormones, and who knows what else.

I am reading a book now that talks about how the food we eat plays a large role on our hormones, our body’s natural functions and the alarming rate of disease that we are plagued with. I realized that without much  difficulty I was pumping my body with awful things. I decided to focus on eating clean more often. My first time eating clean for a long period of time was when I lived in Switzerland. In general, there are not a lot of processed foods and most of the foods that I ate come from dairies, butchers, markets, and bakeries. The fridges were so tiny and I found myself buying food more often (especially because since it wasn’t processed it would spoil quickly). I immediately noticed that my stomach was flatter (not puffy or bloated), my skin/hair/nails looked and felt different (better), I had more energy, I naturally lost about 5 pounds (that I couldn’t lose no matter how hard I worked out), and I lost my cravings for the junk.  I fell in love with the way food tasted without having to use a lot of salt, sugar, or additional flavorings.I overall felt, looked, and performed better.

I want to have that feeling more often. So, now I am focused on dedicating 10 meals a week to eating clean that means whole foods (natural and unprocessed) like fruits, veggies, lean meats, natural fats, and complex carbs. I also am aiming to eat more organic foods to avoid the toxins that are used in and on the foods that I eat.  My ultimate goal is to adopt a cleaner eating lifestyle and I think that 10 meals a week is a great start.  I also decided that my daily Shakeology wouldn’t count as my 10 meals (since it is as clean as it gets :)) This will force me to make better meal choices.

I will keep you in the loop with my quest of cleaner eating…:)

One thought on “Cleaning Up My Eating

  1. Great decision to eat clean in 2012! I myself try to eat as clean as I can…..maybe 80% of the time. For instance, tonight we are having broiled fish and brown rice for dinner. I love roasted veggies and in the summer time we grill alot of lean meats and veggies. I blow it at the holidays of course, and it’s hard to get organic around here in the winter time. In the summer I’m always checking out the fresh markets for veggies and fruits. Good luck in your endeavor! Hope you check out my site sometime, I might have some things on there you like, it’s a combination of fitness and healthy eating….beware there are some dishes on there not so clean too…Love your post! HAPPY CLEAN EATING!

Leave a Reply

