Clean Eating, Diet, Health, Recipes

Spaghetti Squash!

20121117-132951.jpg

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with new recipes and foods to help expand my diet of healthier options. I’ve tasted Spaghetti Squash from others and in my opinion it is too bland and too mushy. So, a few days ago I decided that I wanted to try to make it in a way that was tasty and had a nice texture. Here is how I prepared my squash.

Ingredients:
1 Spaghetti Squash
2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
Drizzle of Olive Oil
Spices – Dried Oregano, Sea Salt, Black Pepper

1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Cut Squash length wise and scoop out the seeds with a spoon.

3. Drizzle olive oil over the inside of the squash. Rub it in with your hands.

4. Spread 1 clove of the chopped or crushed garlic over each half on top of squash.

5. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, oregano and any other seasoning or herb that you want.

6. Place squash skin side down with inside of squash facing up on a deep cookie sheet lines with foil. ( I see a lot of recipes that call for you place it skin side up in an inch of water, which I think limits the flavor and makes the texture mushy).

7. Cook for 45 – 55 minutes until the skin is soft enough and gives when you squeeze it.

8. Let it cool for 10 minutes.

9. Use a fork to scrape out the squash horizontally (not lengthwise).

10. Put it in a bowl and serve how you want.

Sometimes I just add Parmesan cheese, basil and tomatoes. This time around I sautéed chicken breast, tomatoes, onions, and portabella mushrooms in wine. It was delicious and I cut a lot of the carbs.

Try it out and let me know how it turned out for you!

Leave a Reply

