Clean Eating, Diet, Health, Healthy Eating, Recipes

Healthier Banana Bread

20121210-145727.jpgThis morning as I was cleaning out my fridge I saw that I had placed two bananas in the freezer. I figured that I should make banana bread with them or throw them away. Since I am currently in my Little Black Dress challenge, where healthy eating is a requirement, I wanted to find a healthier version. I did some research online and combined a few recipes that I found to create my own version.  I must say that I am not a true baker but this recipe was super easy and quick. Plus, they came out moist and delicious. This is the perfect recipe if you want something sweet but not too sweet. I purposely reduced the sugar to make sure that it remained as healthy as it could be.

Recipe:

1 cup / 2-3 overripe bananas (mine were frozen)
2 eggs
4oz of natural applesauce
1 teaspoon of vanilla
4oz of Greek Yogurt
1 3/4 cup of flour
1/2 cup of sugar
1/2 cup of brown sugar
1 teaspoon of baking soda
Dash of salt
Cinnamon, AllSpice, Nutmeg (I just used a few dashes until it smelled heavenly)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Mix all wet ingredients in a bowl. I used my KitchenAid standing mixer. Then in a separate bowl, combine all dry ingredients and whisk together. Turn on electric mixer of wet ingredients and slowly add the dry ingredients until it is smooth and smells like heaven.

Grease a muffin pan and pour in batter.

Bake for 25 minutes or until you poke with a toothpick and it comes out clean.

And there you have it! They taste delicious, aren’t too sweet, and are a healthy alternative to traditional banana bread. No oil was used and that made me happy!

Let me know how it turns out for you!

Leave a Reply

