Quick Healthy Meal: Penne with Sautéed Veggies

20130206-203440.jpg

Tonight I was having issues trying to figure out what I wanted for dinner. I almost opted for ordering takeout, but decided to see what I could cook up in the kitchen. I had 1/4 of a bag of whole wheat penne pasta, grilled chicken tenders from lunch, tons of frozen veggies that I needed to get rid of (broccoli, asparagus, spinach), grape tomatoes and Portabella mushrooms that were on their last leg, and an onion. Aha!

I boiled the pasta and diced the onions, tomatoes and mushrooms (that were edible) and grabbed a handful of spinach, asparagus and broccoli. I used tablespoon of coconut oil in a pan and sautéed the veggies. I added a heaping teaspoon of crushed garlic (I buy organic crushed garlic in a jar). As the veggies did their thing, I added Himalayan salt, Italian seasoning blend, and Emeril’s essence (homemade).

Once the pasta was al dente I added it and diced chicken tenders to the pan with the veggies. I let it cook for a few more minutes so the pasta can absorb the flavors of the sauté pan. I topped with a little bit of Parmesan cheese and fresh cracked black pepper.

It turned out delicious and full of flavor. I didn’t even miss the sauce! It was a much better version of those frozen skillet meals that you buy, but it didn’t have the heavy salty sauce and the chicken was real! Plus, it took me 15 minutes from start to finish. I used myfitnesspal to check the calorien count and it came out to 400 calories. I was 100% satisfied with tonight’s dinner.

Keeping grilled chicken and frozen veggies on hand is a great way to make sure that you have ingredients to make quick and healthy meals. I saved some of the chicken veggie mixture and will use that for a whole wheat wrap tomorrow and will top with mozzarella cheese.

Hope this helps you out with a quick, easy, healthy, and tasty dinner!

Leave a Reply

