Guilt Free “Burger”

20130813-153304.jpgFor those who know me, they know that I love BURGERS! Seriously, I’m from the midwest and not gonna lie, I’m a beef raised girl.  But, I also know that eating burgers all of the time are not going to help me stay committed to my mission of eating cleaner and healthier.  For those who know me, also know that I’m into depriving myself, so I like to find ways to get creative with making healthier choices.  Like today’s lunch, which was AMAZING!  We had a BBQ last night and yes, I had a burger, but there was no way that I could do a burger again, so I compromised and made a grilled Portabella Mushroom Burger, instead.  It was still super filling and tasty, but it wasn’t heavy and I didn’t feel like crap, after eating it. Plus it gave me energy to crank through the second half of my day, preparing for my upcoming fitness challenge

 Here’s the recipe:

1 large Portabella Mushroom Cap
1 Tblspn of olive oil
1 garlic clove crushed
Dash of Montreal Steak Seasoning

Mix the oil, garlic, and spices into a bowl and brush over the mushroom cap (top and bottom). Grill the cap until it starts to soften, then flip for a few more minutes. 

Top with grilled onions, cheese, lettuce, tomato and mustard and put on a whole wheat bun.

Enjoy! Serve with grilled corn or a nice green salad.

Leave a Reply

