Frittatas Save The Day & Your Fridge

I will be moving into my apartment on the West Coast (yay to being bi-coastal), and as I am preparing for the move, I didn’t want to go grocery shopping for dinner and I didn’t want to pitch the food that was in the fridge.  One thing that I love to do is to make a frittata, because you can literally throw all types of ingredients into your egg mixture, pour into a baking pan and bake for about 25 minutes on 350 and have a great meal! Each base is about 6 eggs (or 2 whole eggs and then 4 egg whites), a splash of milk, fresh cracked black pepper and a grind or two of himalayan salt. Then you can add whatever, you like or have on hand. Below are some of my favorite concoctions:

  • Turkey Bacon, Onions, Tomatoes, Cheddar Cheese
  • Ground Turkey and Salsa (top with Avocado and Cheddar Cheese)
  • Sun Dried tomatoes, Spinach and goat cheese
  • Green Onions, Chicken Breast and Swiss Cheese
  • Roasted veggies (Zuchinni, squash, eggplant, onions, garlic)
  • Bacon, Spinach, and Tomato (my version of a BLT)
  • Asparagus, Bell Peppers, Onions, & Mushrooms
  • Potatoes, Onions, Tomatoes & Bell Peppers

These are just a few options that I tend to make on the regular, because I usually have leftover ground turkey, grilled chicken breast and tons of veggies (fresh and frozen) on hand.  I serve it with a green salad and maybe a slice of Ezekiel Bread toast.  Plus, it also makes a great lunch the next day, just wrap individual slices in aluminum foil and take with you.

Hopefully, this is an easy way to say healthy and mix it up sometimes, while also making sure that your food doesn’t go bad in the fridge. I’d love to hear your recipes for frittatas or baked egg dishes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

