Clean Eating, Diet, Health, Healthy Eating, Recipes

Healthy Recipe: Creamy Mashed Cauliflower

I must admit that there are times when I want to go into carb overload and one of my favorite go to items is MASHED POTATOES! If I could I would eat entire gallon. Sad, but hey, I’m being honest. 🙂   However, given that I am really focusing this year to develop a better relationship with food, as well as utilize food as fuel, while enjoying it in the process. I have to find ways to still indulge, yet stay true to my goals.  A few years ago I was at a restaurant and Mashed Cauliflower was an available side items for my chicken dish. I was told that they are just like Mashed Potatoes, being that I’m a mashed potato fanatic, I thought, “Why not?”   Well, after one bite, I realized why, because it was gross. The cauliflower had a bitter taste and the texture was a mix between lumpy, creamy and chunky. No thank you!

IMG_7526

Last week, at the Farmer’s Market, there was a great deal on Cauliflower ($1.50), so snagged one. Ideally, i was going to simply roast it (which is another awesome way to enjoy cauliflower), but was reminded of the failed Cauliflower Mash that I had and decided that I was going to find a way to make it taste good.  So, I tried it and it was AMAZING! Since then, I’ve gotten my teenage brother and sister to ask me to make it on the regular, we’ve had it a few times since then.  So yes, it is kid approved, health approved, and taste bud approved! 

Here is the recipe:

  • 1 Head of Cauliflower (rinsed and cut into florets)
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • Seasonings of your choice (I used a few dashes of homemade Emeril’s Essence)
  1. Place the water and cauliflower into a sauce pot and bring to a medium bowl.
  2. Let boil/steam until the florets are tender, but not mushy. (You can steam the cauliflower using a steamer, as well, to get the same effect.)
  3. Transfer the cauliflower and water (there is flavor and nutrients in the water so keep it) to a food processor or blender and pulse until the cauliflower is the desired texture you want. You can also use a potato masher if you would like.
  4. Transfer mashed cauliflower back into the pot and bring the temperature down to low.
  5. Add more seasonings, spices, cheese, butter, green onions, or whatever else you would like to add to your mashed cauliflower.
  6. Enjoy!
Mashed Cauliflower with Maple Bacon Roasted Brussel Sprouts & Sweet Potato Hash
Mashed Cauliflower with Maple Bacon Roasted Brussel Sprouts & Sweet Potato Hash

 

Leave a Reply

