Recipe: Roasted Garlic & Pesto Spaghetti Squash with Tomatoes & Parmesan Cheese

I love pasta and I eat it often, (Gasp! Yes, I eat carbs and soon I will be creating a post about “The Skinny on Carbs”), but sometimes I don’t like dealing with the “Gluten Baby” that I get when I eat pasta.  You know, when you stomach blows up and looks like you are pregnant, LOL.  Spaghetti Squash gets a bad wrap, because to be honest, most people don’t know how to make it taste delicious.  They either don’t season it at all or they use the basics, like salt, pepper, and seasoning salt.  The great thing about the Spaghetti Squash is that it is pretty mild in flavor and if season it properly, it can have crazy amazing flavor.

So, here is how I make mine and my latest recipe that I made today for lunch.

Roasted Garlic & Pesto Spaghetti Squash with Tomatoes & Parmesan Cheese

  1. Cut the Spaghetti Squash in half and scoop out the seeds in the middle.
  2. Rub 1Tbsp of Coconut Oil on the inside of the squash.
  3. Season liberally with herbs and spices of your choice. I used Tastefully Simple Seasonings that I ordered from my friend Sara (click the link to order). I used Garlic Garlic and Tomato Basil Pesto.  Both have great flavor and not very salty.
  4. Pour a little bit of water into a glass baking dish (I’ve tried metal and it doesn’t come out as good).
  5. Place squash cut side down into the glass dish and bake for 25 – 35 minutes, until the skin is tender to touch and gives a little when you squeeze it.
  6. Let it rest! I know that the house will smell amazing when you are cooking it, but resist the urge to dig in right away. Wait at least 10 minutes for it to cool off.
  7. Rake the flesh with a fork, moving in direction where you are raking from the skin to the middle.
  8. Place into a bowl, add 1 diced tomato.  I used a beautiful ripe red tomato on the vine that I got from the Farmers Market this weekend.  It was super tasty and had a lot of flavor. (Roma tomatoes or even ripe cherry tomatoes would work as well.)
  9. Top with fresh cracked black pepper, Sea Salt, and some fresh grated parmesan cheese.
  10. Enjoy!

Roasted Garlic & Pesto Spaghetti Squash with Tomatoes & Parmesan Cheese

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Roasted Garlic & Pesto Spaghetti Squash with Tomatoes & Parmesan Cheese

Leave a Reply

