Clean Eating, Diet, Healthy Eating, Recipes

Clean Eating Recipe: Southwestern Skillet

One of my new favorite go to meals is this a random concoction I created when I was trying to make a meal with a bunch of random ingredients in my fridge and freezer. And I was pleasantly surprised with what I now call a Southwestern skillet, as I cooked everything in one skillet.
20140610-131944-47984177.jpg
The best part about it, is the versatility you can have it. I’ve used it for tacos, quesadillas, oven baked tostadas, topping for nachos and even placed in lettuce cups.

Here is the recipe, feel free to add or remove items, remember this was made based on what I already had.

1 pound of Ground Turkey
1 can of Organic Fire Roasted Tomatoes
1 can of Organic Black Beans, rinsed
1 cup of frozen corn
1 cup of frozen Organic Brown Rice
Seasoning of your choice
Green Onions and Cilantro

1. Season the ground turkey with spices of your choice, just make sure it’s not full of salt. I used a mixture of Mrs Dash Cajun spices, Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic, and cumin.
2. Brown the turkey until liquids run clear
3. Add the tomatoes, beans, corn, and brown rice to the skillet, turn heat down to low – medium low, and cover.
4. Cook for about 10 minutes, then add cilantro and green onions

Serve topped with Avocado or plain Greek yogurt or salsa. The options are endless and it makes about 6 servings!

Leave a Reply

