Hooray for Satisfying Salads

20140711-152006-55206499.jpg

One of the focuses that I plan to have while doing PIYO, is to really focus on my nutrition and by using the eating guide to help me to get a bit more creative with my meals and to incorporate different things into my meals.

I typically eat very basic and plain salads, just to get my daily intake of veggies.  This approach led me to not really enjoy salads or to put so much stuff in them that they are no longer healthy and not that appetizing (too much going on).

But this week, I’ve been creating amazing salads that are leaving me satisfied and that are super tasty!   Today’s salad was pretty simple to make, especially because I already had most of the ingredients prepped.  For example, I bought a bunch of kale and immediately when I got home, I chopped and washed it and stored it in a plastic bag with a paper towel and I also made a pot of brown rice.

Today’s salad was super simple:

  • 1 Cup of Kale
  • 1/2 cup of cooked brown rice (cold)
  • 1/4 of an Avocado
  • Handful of Cherry Tomatoes (diced)
  • 1/4 cup of natural cheese (cubed)
  • 1 slice of preservative free deli meat
  • Organic and preservative free Balsamic Vinaigrette20140711-152006-55206852.jpg

What do you typically put into your salads? I’d love more suggestions!

Leave a Reply

