8 Ab Friendly Foods

20140806-160744-58064620.jpgSo, for the past few months, I’ve been getting questions about how to get Abs. I wish I could say that there is a magic pill or one specific exercise to do that will sculpt amazing abs and I wish that I could say that once you get them, they stay forever.  Unfortunately, there is no short cut to getting abs and there is a on going commitment to your fitness and nutrition to keep your abs.  With that being said, I will share with you 8 foods that you should incorporate into your diet that are ab friendly. When you couple that with a good workout regimen, you will see amazing results.  I didn’t start to get abs until I checked my diet, I was working out like crazy but eating like crap and you know how the saying goes, “You can’t out-exercise a bad diet.”  As hard as this was to adjust to, it made so much sense when I continued with my fitness programs like Insanity and T25, but followed their meal plans and then I just made a focus to make my meals 80% clean. (I still have my cheat days and my abs are still in tact!)

20140806-160923-58163235.jpgHere are a list of foods to eat, that are ab friendly:
  • Kale
  • Salmon & Tuna
  • Eggs
  • Nuts, especially almonds
  • Apples
  • Berries
  • Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Quinoa
These items are staples in my kitchen and are always on my grocery list because they are so versatile, they are super clean, and can be easily incorporated into my meals.  Now, I’m not saying that this is all that you should eat, but I will say that I eat these foods A LOT.
20140806-160925-58165405.jpg
So here are some suggestions for meals and snacks:
  • Kale Salad with Tuna and Hard Boiled Egg & Avocado
  • Plain Greek Yogurt Parfaits with Mixed Berries (you can pre make these ahead of time using frozen berries in small tupperware containers)
  • Apple Slices with about 10 almonds (or a Tbsp on Peanut Butter)
  • Apple Berry Fruit Salad – Take one apple (diced), handful of berries, and a 3 tbsp of plain greek yogurt, a bit of honey and cinnamon, mix together and enjoy.
  • Salmon with Quinoa and Sautéed Kale or Spinach
  • Egg white omelet packed with veggies (or frittata)
  • Quinoa Salad – cooked quinoa with tomatoes, cucumbers, tomatoes, feta, olives and grilled chicken, serve with a low fat vinegar based dressing

The key is to experiment with these foods and add in other foods that are clean (without preservatives, refined sugars, and other chemicals).  To learn more about clean eating and how to incorporate it into your diet, download my free Clean Eating Guide.

20140806-160925-58165492.jpgAs you continue to focus on cleaning up your diet, don’t forget to add in a good fitness program. I love working out at home with programs like P90X3, Les Mills Combat, Insanity, Focus T25 or now I’m doing PIYO.  I love these programs because all of them focus on HIIT workouts or complex movements that really work the entire body in a short amount time, but also work the core.  All of these programs have helped me to get my results and to maintain my results.

Bonus Points:

  • Aim to keep the sugary drinks, snacks, candies, and alcohol to a minimum. I will be 100% with you and say that yes, I do partake in these “Ab Faux Pas Foods” but everything in moderation and I aim to keep my sugar intake to a minimum.  Take a look the labels of the foods that you are eating and as you are looking at the calorie count, also look at the ingredient list (are there foods you can’t pronounce or is sugar one of the top 3 ingredients). Also check to see how much sugar is in your foods, drinks, condiments, sauces, etc you might be surprised, but you also might be surprised at how your body changes by eliminating/minimizing those items
  • Drink tons of water! I used to hate drinking water, but now that I consume at least half my weight in ounces each day, I have noticed that I am not as bloated and my digestion has improved by staying hydrated.
  • Keep the stress low. Cortisol is a stress hormone that is released when you are stressed and it is also linked to belly fat.  When your body is in constant stress mode, your body releases cortisol but if there is a s steady flow of cortisol flowing through your system, you can see an increase of fat accumulation around the middle.

Ultimately, just know that there is no quick fix or trick, it’s all about eating clean, training mean, and staying serene…consistently…to get and maintain a whittled mid-section. I hope this helps and if you any other questions feel free to comment below.  Also, don’t forget to grab your free copy of the Clean Eating Guide by visiting www.CleanEatingGuide.com. 🙂

 

One thought on “8 Ab Friendly Foods

  1. Pingback: Quinoa 101: How to Make & Love Quinoa | Allison Tibbs Fitness

Leave a Reply

