Clean Eating, Diet, Gluten Free, Health, Healthy Eating, Recipes, Weight Loss

Clean Eating Recipe: Zucchini Noodles with Homemade Marinara Sauce

So, it is no secret that I love a good kitchen gadget, especially one that is super simple to use and easy to clean up.  Recently, a good friend of mind sent me a Vegetti Vegetable Spiralizer (see below) and I am obsessed!  I decided to try it out by doing something simple, to really get a good feel for it.  For anyone who is skeptical, like I was, I promise you, it’s super easy and I think that this may be my new favorite way to eat “pasta” with marinara/tomato based sauce.    Plus, you don’t feel bloated, heavy, or uncomfortable after you eat it.  I actually was thinking that next time I double the portion size, just because I was still pretty hungry after eating my bowl of “pasta”.   Nonetheless, I am actually about to make another dish today, after I finish this blog, this time using a yellow squash I got from the Farmer’s Market this weekend and to finish off my homemade marinara sauce.

IMG_4099.JPG

Using the Veggetti is much like sharpening a pencil.  You just decide if you want thick or thin noodles, I choose the thick option for my pasta and then just inserted the Zucchini and spiraled away. I left the skin on and it was perfectly fine.  As you can see, you get long strands of “pasta”.  So it is best if you cut the strands up a bit, so it is easier to eat.

IMG_4100.JPG

Next, I decided to sauté the noodles in a pan with a touch of olive oil and I added some crushed red pepper and salt free italian seasoning, to give it more flavor and more of a “cooked pasta” texture.  I sautéed them for about 4 – 5 minutes, then immediately transferred them to a plate.

IMG_4101.JPG

Then I topped with my marinara sauce, which I made the night before (Throw 2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes into a blend, blend up and pour into a pot, add seasoning, herbs, and some olive olive and cook for about 30 – 45 minutes. Add salt to cut the sweetness).   I also topped it with some parmesan cheese and it was delicious. I couldn’t believe how tasty it was and how I didn’t even miss the actual pasta.

IMG_4104.JPGThis is a great investment for anyone who is looking for a healthier option to pasta or who just wants to mix it up from time to time.  Click on the picture to get more information on how to get your own Veggetti, then make sure to share with me what recipes you create with it! 🙂

Veggetti Spiral Vegetable Slicer Makes Veggie Pasta – click to check it out on Amazon
Leave a Reply

