How to Find the Motivation to Stay Committed to your Fitness Journey

10534203_10107209546932044_3922817882711458221_nYesterday, was a rough day, in terms of motivation.  I simply didn’t have it in me to get my workout in.  And it got me to thinking, about the importance of motivation and why it is needed when working on your Fitness Journey, you have to realize that it is a journey that never ends. As daunting as this may sound, I realized that this is quite a motivating thing!

When I first started out, I simply wanted to be healthier and stronger, as I was in a severe state of depression and I wasn’t taking care of my body.  I felt like crap, so I ate like crap, and it was a continuous cycle.  When I finally started to workout, I felt better about myself and I started to eat better and that cycle began to change for the positive.  But the reality is that as easily as I can start a fitness and health regimen where my body feels amazing, I can easily stop working out and stop eating healthy and I will be right back to where I started – depressed, suicidal, unhealthy, unhappy, and unfulfilled. And truth be told, I promised myself that I would never go back to that place or go back to being that girl.

So, if you are struggling to stay motivated on your journey, here are a few tips to help you refocus and reset your mind:

  1. Think about WHY you started in the first place.  This is such a great thing to do, because if you remember how you felt, what you looked like, and why you wanted to make the change, it can be a great kick in the butt. Go back and look at old pictures of yourself, when you weren’t in the best of shape – physically, emotionally, or mentally.  Look at that person and realize that you are not that same person and that you don’t have any plans of going back to be that person.
  2. Make a Promise to Yourself.  When you think about why you started and where you were at the beginning of your journey, make a promise to yourself that you won’t go back to that place.  In this society, we tend to feel bad and guilty if we make promises to someone that we don’t keep, but when it comes to ourselves, we don’t care.  Treat yourself with the same respect that you would give to anyone that you make a promise to.  Work just as hard as you would for your boss, your spouse, your kids, your family, and in some cases strangers that you will stick to your word and fulfill your promise.
  3. Realize that the journey never ends. As long as you are alive, your journey will continue, because your body will need consistent care and attention, which will require you to be committed day in and day out, to working out, eating healthy, and taking care of your body.  Set goals with timelines, but once you reach your weight loss goal or you are able to fit into that pair of skinny jeans, set a new goal to work toward.
  4. Be Kind When You Fail. Sometimes you will have a lapse in judgement or you will have a few off days, weeks or even months, but don’t let that isolated moment cause you to give up. Think of it as a minor stumble on your journey, not one that will cause you to quit and turn back.  You are human, you are not perfect and no one expects you to be. Be patient as you learn and adopt new habits, it takes 21 Days to form a new habit, but that is not always the pace for each one, for some habits to form it may take months.   So be patient and be kind to yourself and allow yourself to make mistakes and to fail.
  5. Find an Accountability Partner. I have found this to be the most important step for me on my journey. Yes, I am a Fitness Coach and Personal Trainer, but I too have moments like yesterday, when I just didn’t want to work out.  The one thing that helped me to push through and get my workout in, was the fact that each month I host 30 Day Accountability Groups where everyone in the group has to check in daily with their workouts and their meals for the day.  This is so important, because when you know that people are expecting you to check in, you don’t want to be the one who doesn’t do their part.  There is an added dose of healthy pressure to not let people in the group down.    If you would like to be a part of my next accountability group, just send me an email or comment below and I will send you more information.

The key is to just do what you need to do find what will work to keep you motivated and then stay the path.  Your life, your future, your health, and the quality of your life, will be greatly affected by how well you consistently take care of your body.

Leave a Reply

