3 Questions to Ask Yourself before starting a Cleanse

Well, today is the day that I start my 3 Day Refresh program.  I will be honest and say that I am not one to go Ga-Ga for cleanses, but after the past month of emotional eating due to some lifestyle changes and major decisions being made, my eating took a bit of a toll.  Which, we all know, you can’t out train a bad diet.  I wasn’t going crazy but I will say that after discovering Cookie Butter ice cream from Trader Joes and sneaking to the bakery next to the gym (yes I said it!) time to time, I can tell that I need to get a bit more focused on my diet again.  After looking at photos of myself from last spring break’s trip to Mexico and preparing for my upcoming trip to mexico, I realize that I need to get it together.

So, I’m giving the 3 Day Refresh a shot and luckily I have a group of other people doing it with me to help me stay on track. To be honest, it’s not that bad, you are pretty much eating fruits and veggies and drinking high protein shakes and fiber drinks each day, so you are not starving and it’s pretty simple.

However, I have known about this program for about a year and have yet to try it, again, I am a skeptic, but before I made the decision to do it, I asked myself these 3 questions and after reviewing my answers, I knew that a cleanse would be the best thing for me. If you are thinking about doing a cleanse in the near future, ask yourself these 3 questions first before you invest:

  1. Why am I doing this cleanse?   Many of my clients will tell me that they are doing a cleanse to lose weight quickly or they even think that they can sustain it for longer than the cleanse suggests.  A cleanse should not be a quick fix, actually, nothing you do with your health and fitness should be a quick fix.  Why? Because you didn’t gain the weight quickly, so don’t expect it come off overnight. Instead, you should look at a cleanse as a way to make sure that your body is operating at its best to help facilitate the other good behaviors that you want to incorporate into your lifestyle.  If you are only looking for a quick fix, the second that you are done with the cleanse, you will go back (or even worse) to where you were.  When you do a cleanse shift your focus to HEALTH not WEIGHT LOSS. 
  2. Will this fuel and nourish my body or will it deplete my body?  Many people do these drastic cleanses that are out on the market or that they read about some celebrity doing, you know like only eating cauliflower puree and drinking pickle juice for 5 days.  The thing is that the body actually can do a pretty good job of cleansing itself if you simply focus on eating fruits and veggies and make sure that you have a good dose of plant based proteins and fiber.  Coupled with drinking lots of water.  Do you see that you don’t have to starve yourself or only eat one or two things??  Also, a lot of these shakes and pills that are on the market are filled with tons of fillers, preservatives, and chemicals, which yes, you may lose weight as they can help to make you feel fuller, make you poop more, or even suppress your appetite, this is not what a cleanse should do.  A cleanse is a very intense thing that your body may be going through and if you are not nourishing your body during the cleanse, you could be doing way more harm than good.  That’s what I love about the 3 Day Refresh so far, I have yet to feel hungry or cranky, to be honest I find it hard to eat all the food I’m required to eat. When you do a cleanse shift your focus to NOURISHING not DEPRIVING your body.
  3. What is my plan of action after completing the cleanse? As I mentioned above, cleanses are not quick fixes, they are more of a way to jumpstart or help you to get back on track so that you can build upon the results of the cleanse. After the cleanse is over, you should have a plan of action to continue the progress and results, that means that you are not going back to eating crap and junk food, as much as I want to go back to eating Cookie Butter Ice Cream and fresh baked cookies on the regular, I know that it will ruin the progress I made. So instead, I will focus on only indulging from time to time. I will also make sure that I am staying on top of my meal prep Sundays (another thing that I let go to the wayside last week causing me to eat junk and feel a bit bloated).   I am also going to make sure that I continue to keep drinking my water (on the Refresh I’m drinking about 90 ounces of water to help facilitate the cleanse).  The cleanse should never be your end all be all, but moreso an opportunity to set you up for success.  When you do a cleanse shift your focus to LONG TERM RESULTS not SHORT TERM RESULTS.

Cleanses are great, if you are 100% clear of why you are doing it, have a cleanse that nourishes your body during the cleansing process and you have a plan of action after the cleanse is over.

I will be sharing my results with the 3 Day Refresh at the end of the week and give you the good, bad, and ugly.  But in the meantime, if you have any questions about the 3 Day Refresh or any other cleanse that you have done in the past or are thinking about doing, let’s chat about it so we can make sure that you are prepped for ultimate success!

Leave a Reply

