Beachbody Products, Beachbody Programs, Clean Eating, Diet, Fitness, Health, Healthy Eating, Weight Loss, Workout

How I lost 3 lbs on a 8 day all inclusive vacation in Mexico!

13754460_10111174801729644_1663793885540118672_nWhen most people think of all inclusive vacations, they immediately are drawn to the allure of the all you can eat and all you can drink portion of that package.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I love to eat and I love my Margaritas, but this time around, I had to be very intentional about what I ate and drank on my 8 day vacation at the Now Sapphire Resort in Riviera Maya, Mexico.

On July 6th, I started the 21 Day Fix Extreme program which also included replacing one meal a day with Shakeology.  This 21 day program focuses on 30 minute workouts which vary from upper body, lower body, total body, plyometric, pilates, cardio, and yoga. On top of that you have a very simple nutrition plan that you follow that incorporates portion control containers and a list of foods that you are able to eat.  The whole thought of this program is simplicity, it takes out calorie counting or spending endless hours working out, yet yields pretty amazing results, because you do the program for 21 days without rest days or cheat meals.  In my mind, you can do anything for 21 days, but I will say when 8 of those days are spent abroad, I was a bit nervous, but I am happy to report that I actually lost 3 pounds while on vacation and feel like a total rockstar for staying on track.

Here are a few things that I did, that made this possible and actually pretty doable for the vacation:

  1. SHAKEOLOGY EVERY SINGLE DAY!: I made sure that every morning, before leaving my hotel room, I used one of the ice cold bottles of water and mixed it with one serving of Cafe Latte Shakeology. It was like my morning Iced Coffee that I didn’t feel guilty about.  Shakeology is packed with nutrients, vitamins, minerals, probiotics, protein, and has 9 servings of fruits and vegetables. This was my morning fuel.
  2. Beachbody OnDemand & the Gym: Since the resort had free wifi, I was able to bring my phone or laptop to the resort gym and do my 30 minute workouts each morning. Since the program uses dumbbells and resistance bands and doesn’t take up a lot of space, I was able to get the workouts done. Plus, the gym area with the weights was pretty empty, as most people either stuck to the cardio machines or used the cable weight machines.
  3. Make Friends with the Chefs & Wait Staff: The chefs and waitstaff were pretty regular and I made it a point to make friends and explain my dietary needs on day one.  This way, it was easy for me over the course of the 8 days to get foods that I could eat. I frequented the grill area, where I could order a piece of fish, steak, or chicken to be grilled for me on the spot. I brought over the olive oil that was near the salad bar and asked them to use that instead of the oil that was next to the grill, which wasn’t olive oil and didn’t have any additional additives. I also, brought over fresh veggies from the salad bar and asked them grill or sauté them for me and they did without blinking an eye.  I opted out of the fried foods or foods drenched in salty sauces, and ate mostly grilled protein and veggies at each meal.  I also indulged in tropical fruits that we don’t typically have here in the states like Mexican Papaya with a squeeze of lime juice, dragon fruit, and tons of melon, pineapples and mangos. For breakfast, I stuck with egg white omelets with a bit of cheese and tons of veggies.
  4. SKIP THE ALCOHOL: The 21 Day Fix Extreme doesn’t allow for alcohol, which was a bit of bummer, especially seeing all of the cool concoctions being served in pineapples or hearing people order a “Dirty Monkey” from the pool bar.  However, I was able to still have a refreshing “mocktail” – Sparkling Water with muddled mint and lime with a pineapple slice. It was the perfect drink and still felt fancy and tropical. I actually didn’t even miss the alcohol, being that it was so hot and humid, my drink was perfect and I could drink them all day! Which was helpful, since I needed to make sure that I drink at least 10 glasses of water.
  5. Challenge Tracker App & 21 Day Fix Tracker App: To help me stay on track, as when I am on vacation I rarely know what day it is, so having a tool to ensure that I was eating on track and doing the correct workouts for the day, was key.  Plus, I was a part of a Challenge Group, where I was able to see everyone else checking in with their meals and workouts, it was a great reminder when I didn’t want to workout or wanted to pig out at the buffet, that I had goals and made commitments and that I wasn’t alone on this journey.

I am pleased with myself and my results so far, especially because I didn’t make excuses and stayed on track.  If I can do it, that means that anyone else can.  This just proves the power of having a true system and plan for your nutrition and fitness that is simple and sustainable, coupled with an accountability system and tracking tools.  If you are interested in trying the 21 Day Fix or the 21 Day Fix Extreme, I have a Challenge Group starting soon and I’d love to have you join me and the rest of the group.

Click here to learn more!

Leave a Reply

